Search our website Find job opportunies at THI and St. Luke's Find a doctor location and contact information
About UsResearchEducationCommunity Outreach & Heart HealthPatient CareSupport Us
News and Publications
Symbol of Excellence
  Back to previous page

Click here to make a donation.

 Ask a Texas Heart Institute Heart Doctor.
Submit your question.


May 18, 2015
Andi Gobin, PhDSTEM Career Q&A with Andi Gobin, Bioengineer, RMR Laboratories at Texas Heart Institute

Dr. Andi Gobin, Assistant Director, Regenerative Medicine Research at THI, participated in a JASON Learning Interview as a STEM role model and shared her passion for her field and her job and provided details about her day-to-day experiences as scientist and engineer. JASON connects youth with inspiring science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) role models via live, interactive webcasts. These role models show how STEM fundamentals students learn are applied in real world situations. Read the transcript of Andi's interview on the JASON Learning website.

May 9, 2015
Taylor to grads: 'You can make a difference in the world'

Dr. Taylor to grads: 'You can make a difference in the world'
After speaking to the Mississippi University for Women graduating class of 2015 as the keynote speaker Saturday, Dr. Doris Taylor received a honorary doctorate of science from MUW president. Read more at the Columbus Dispatch.

April 29, 2015
Team THI

Team THI
Team THI, composed of members of the Texas Heart Institute research laboratories, earned second place in the booth category and second place for non-traditional chili at the 12th Annual BioHouston Chili Cook Off. The theme was Mobile Chii Brasserie in honor of our Mobile MRI unit doing research on sudden death in student athletes.Yay team THI! More photos on our Flickr website!

March 4, 2015
Dr. William Cohn's latest invention is changing the game for patients with kidney failure
Dr. William Toting a battered, silver pool-cue case over his shoulder like an Old West gunslinger, William “Billy” E. Cohn, M.D., cardiac surgeon and director of the Center for Technology and Innovation at Texas Heart Institute, as well as director of the Department of Surgery Incubator at Baylor College of Medicine, unveils one of his latest technological innovations.
Read more at TMC Pulse.

February 13, 2015
Dr. Scott A. LeMaire named editor for Journal of Surgical Research
Scott LeMaireScott A. LeMaire, M.D., Texas Heart Institute professional staff member and professor and vice-chair for research at Baylor College of Medicine, was named editor for the Journal of Surgical Research. The journal publishes original articles concerned with investigations relevant to surgical practice and teaching, emphasizing reports from the entire spectrum of surgical research—clinical investigations, fundamental basic science, outcomes research and education research. Read more at Baylor College of Medicine, Department of Surgery.


January 30, 2015
Dr. William Cohn's start-up company wins ICI Best Start-Up Innovation Award

WIlliam E. Cohn, MDTVA Medical, Inc., announced it has won the 2014 Innovations in Cardiovascular Interventions (ICI) Best Start-Up Innovation Award. The company received the top international honor for its everlinQTM System, a catheter-based technology designed to create hemodialysis access for chronic kidney disease patients with a percutaneous approach.

"The investigational technique has the potential to revolutionize how patients with chronic kidney failure receive ongoing hemodialysis," said William E. Cohn, M.D., co-founder of TVA Medical, professor of surgery at Baylor College of Medicine, cardiac surgeon and director of the Center for Technology and Innovation at Texas Heart Institute. "Our clinical studies to date show strong promise for a less-invasive approach, and we're gratified to receive this prestigious innovation award."  (Courtesy Baylor College of Medicine, Department of Surgery).

January 23, 2015
Dr. Preventza awarded Fulbright & Jaworski Award

Dr. Ourania PreventzaDr.Ourania Preventza, assistant professor of surgery, has been awarded a Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. Faculty Excellence Award in the enduring educational materials category.

Dr. Preventza is an attending cardiothoracic surgeon at the Texas Heart Institute, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center and full-time faculty in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine. (Courtesy Baylor College of Medicine, Department of Surgery).


November 13, 2014
Dr. Doris Taylor honored as 2014 Lois T. Ellison, MD Lecturer
Doris A. Taylor, PhD, FAHA, FACC Dr. Doris Taylor, director of regenerative medicine research at the Texas Heart Institute, was recently honored as the 2014 Lois T. Ellison, MD Lecturer. The lectureship was established by the Medical College of Georgia Department of Physiology to honor Dr. Lois Taylor Ellison, a clinician, researcher, educator and administrator whose 60-plus-year affiliation with Georgia Health Sciences University has left a lasting legacy on the institution and on health care in general. Media-Newswire.

October 15, 2014
Dr. William E. Cohn recognized as pioneering innovator
Bud Frazier, MD and Billy Cohn, MD with the Heartmate II pumps.The October issue of TMC Pulse magazine spotlights Dr. William E. Cohn as one of the pioneering talents responsible for the many breakthroughs and discoveries made at the Texas Medical Center. TMC Pulse.



October 15, 2014
Dr. Joseph S. Coselli honored as 25th John W. Kirklin Visiting Professor
Dr. Joseph S. Coselli, 25th John W. Kirklin Visiting Professor in Cardiac Surgery and Related Problems at Mayo Clinic.Joseph S. Coselli, M.D. was the 25th John W. Kirklin Visiting Professor in Cardiac Surgery and Related Problems at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. “I am truly honored to have been invited be the John W. Kirklin Visiting Professor to address a prestigious cadre of thoracic and cardiovascular surgeons at the legendary Mayo Clinic in Rochester.  (Courtesy Baylor College of Medicine, Department of Surgery)


> See past accolades in the archive. 

See also on this website:

For media inquiries please contact:
Texas Heart Institute
Frank Michel  ♦  832-355-9510

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to us on YouTube Find Us on Flicikr Follow Us on Pinterest Add us on Google+ Find us on LinkedIn 

Please contact our Webmaster with questions or comments.
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
© Copyright Texas Heart Institute
All rights reserved.