THI Celebrates “Dr. Neil E. Strickman Day” with Houston’s Mayor Sylvester Turner

Dr. Neil Strickman, Texas Heart Institute fellowship graduate (1982) and Professional Staff Member, was recently honored by the Mayor of Houston, Sylvester Turner, with “Dr. Neil E. Strickman Day”.

Council Member Sallie Alcorn put forward the proclamation, citing Dr. Strickman’s 40 years of service to medicine in Houston’s Texas Medical Center through his expertise in interventional cardiology and his passion for teaching.

Dr. Strickman’s family members were present at City Hall when the Mayor recognized July 19, 2022 in Houston as Dr. Neil E. Strickman Day.

Dr. Sidney K Edelman planned the honor as a surprise for Dr. Strickman, and attended at the proclamation. Also supporting Dr. Strickman were Alice Galvan and Caroline “Mac” McIntosh who have worked with him since 1982.

Dr. Strickman came to Houston in 1977 after graduating from medical school at Upstate Medical Center College of Medicine at Syracuse. He completed his residency at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and cardiology fellowship at the Texas Heart Institute in 1982 and has taken great care of the hearts of Houstonians and patients from around the country in the Texas Medical Center ever since, making 2022 his 40th year as a practicing cardiologist.

Colleagues celebrated the milestone with a baseball park-themed gathering at Hall-Garcia Cardiology Associates at Baylor College of Medicine in the Texas Medical Center.

Earlier this summer, Strickman was recognized by the Texas Heart Institute’s 2022 graduating cardiology fellows with the Dr. Robert J. Hall teaching award.

His commitment to training was also noted by the city in the proclamation.

Strickman practices interventional cardiology with interests in peripheral vascular disease, non-surgical aortic valve replacement (TAVR), and non-surgical aneurysm repair (EVAR).

He served as co-director of the non-invasive department at St. Luke’s from 1982-1985. He is a Professor of Cardiology at Baylor College of Medicine. He has also been an active member of the International Society for Endovascular Specialists since 1982.