Dr. David A. Ott receives 2016 Ray C. Fish Award

Cardiovascular surgeon honored by Texas Heart Institute for contributions to surgery

Houston, Texas (December 12, 2016) – Dr. David A. Ott, surgeon-in-chief of the Texas Heart Institute, has received the 2016 Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement, presented annually by the Texas Heart Institute (THI) at CHI St. Luke’s Health–Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center.

Presented by THI President Dr. James T. Willerson during the 16th annual Texas Update in Cardiovascular Advancements Symposium, the award recognizes those whose innovations have made significant contributions to cardiovascular medicine and surgery.

Dr. Ott, a member of the THI professional staff for 36 years, succeeded Dr. Denton A. Cooley, who held the position for 50 years, as the surgeon-in-chief. A cardiovascular surgeon at THI, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, and Texas Children’s Hospital, Dr. Ott is also active in teaching, holding appointments as Clinical Professor of Surgery at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston and at Baylor College of Medicine (BCM). He has performed more than 20,000 heart and vascular procedures. His reputation for technical expertise is recognized nationally and internationally and he is known for his intrepid approach to the most difficult problems. A Phi Beta Kappa honors graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Ott moved to Houston in 1968 to attend BCM, where he graduated with honors in 1972, and was named to Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. Dr. Ott also served in the 4005th Army Hospital Unit of the U.S. Army Reserves from 1972 to 1978. Dr. Ott is certified by the American Board of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery (1978). He is also a member of numerous professional and surgical societies, including the Society of Thoracic Surgeons, and the American Association of Thoracic Surgeons. Dr. Ott is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and the American College of Cardiology. Having lectured in 15 countries and authored more than 140 articles in surgical literature, Dr. Ott has enjoyed a national reputation in the field of cardiovascular surgery. He is listed in The Best Doctors in America.

The late Ray C. Fish, Houston philanthropist, established the Ray C. Fish Foundation from which his generous gift to THI supported the Institute’s ability to serve a growing number of heart patients who were coming to the Institute in the 1960s. In honor of Ray Fish’s pivotal role in THI’s history, the Institute established the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in 1972. Since that time, 23 physicians have received the prestigious award for their unique cardiovascular innovations.

The 16th Texas Update in Cardiovascular Advancements symposium was conducted on Dec. 9. The annual Continuing Medical Education (CME) event is designed to update medical professionals and researchers on the status and future directions of cardiovascular research and medicine.


For media inquiries, please contact:
Linden Emerson