Search our website Find job opportunies at THI and St. Luke's Find a doctor location and contact information
About UsResearchEducationCommunity Outreach & Heart HealthPatient CareSupport Us
The Texas Heart Institute at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital – the Denton A. Cooley Building
  Back to previous page

Cullen Cardiovascular Research Labs Directors & Scientists

Click here to find out more about Denton A. Cooley, MD
Denton A. Cooley, MD
Texas Heart Institute
Surgeon-in-Chief and President-Emeritus


        Directors and Scientists



What sets the Cullen Cardiovascular Research Laboratories apart from other facilities is the direct involvement of the 150 physicians of the Texas Heart Institute professional staff, who are able to apply innovations directly to patient care.

Co-directors of the Cullen Cardiovascular Research Laboratories

O.H. Frazier, MD
Chief, Center for Cardiac Support
Director, Cardiovascular Surgery Research

James T. Willerson, MD
Texas Heart Institute President
Director, Cardiology Research

Luiz C. Sampaio, MD
Director, Cardiovascular Surgery Research Laboratory

Research Program Directors and Scientists

L. Maximilian Buja, MD
Chief, Cardiovascular Pathology Research

Emerson C. Perin, MD, PhD
Director, Clinical Research for Cardiovascular Medicine

S. Ward Casscells III, MD - October 2012 In Memoriam

MacArthur Elayda, MD, PhD
Vice President, Biostatistics and Epidemiology

Contact information: or 832-355-3121.

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to us on YouTube Find Us on Flicikr Follow Us on Pinterest Add us on Google+ Find us on LinkedIn 

Please contact our Webmaster with questions or comments.
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
© Copyright Texas Heart Institute
All rights reserved.