Search our website Find job opportunies at THI and St. Luke's Find a doctor location and contact information
About UsResearchEducationCommunity Outreach & Heart HealthPatient CareSupport Us
News and Publications
News and Publications
  Back to previous page

to Take to Heart 
 Enter your e-mail:
 First Name:
 Last Name:

 Ask a Texas Heart Institute Heart Doctor.
Submit your question.

News Updates from the Texas Heart Institute

An Historic Joint Meeting of Surgical Societies

Houston, Texas (June 18, 2010) – The world's attention was captured in late 2007 when a 40-year feud was dissolved between internationally renowned cardiovascular surgeons Denton A. Cooley and Michael E. DeBakey. Their reconciliation led to honorary membership for each other in their respective professional surgical societies. 

Invitation to joint meeting of Denton A. Cooley and Michael E. DeBakey Surgical Societies, June 2010.

This past week, June 10-13, the two assemblies met for their first ever jointly-sponsored surgical symposium at Barton Creek Conference Center in Austin, Texas. Dr. Cooley and Dr. Joseph Coselli served as co-directors for the continuing education event. More than 200 attendees heard a stellar faculty speak to issues covering the gamut of technical advances for cardiac assist devices, transplantation, lung cancer, pediatric and adult congenital heart disease, endovascular repair and spinal cord protection during treatment of thoracic aneurysms, and national health care reform. Of particular interest was the presentation by Dr. Roy W. Smythe, who recounted the tragedy, heroism and lessons learned from management of mass casualty trauma which occurred at Fort Hood on November 5, 2009.

Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa recognized at joint meeting of Cooley and DeBakey surgical societies.Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa, Chancellor, The University of Texas System, (second from left) received the Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgical Society's International Recognition Award on June 11th. Joining him (from left) were Dr. Coselli, Dr. James T. Willerson, president of Texas Heart Institute, and Dr. Cooley.

During the "Legends Dinner" on June 12th, Drs. F. Charles Brunicardi and Joseph S. Coselli paid tribute to the namesakes of these societies. Dr. O. H. "Bud" Frazier presented the 2010 Barney Clark Award to Dr. Cooley on behalf of the Medforte Research Foundation in conjunction with the Utah Artificial Heart Institute.

Leaders for the respective groups include Drs. Coselli (Houston) and Robert Salem (Lubbock), the current and incoming presidents, respectively, for the DeBakey Society. Dr. Ugo Tesler (Milan) continues as president of the Cooley Society; Dr. Coselli is president-elect. Executive Boards of both societies held business meetings and look forward to their next meeting in 2012.

Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgical Society

For media inquiries please contact:
Texas Heart Institute
Frank Michel  ♦  713-218-2210 or 832-355-9246

For THI and St. Luke's media profiles, see Public Affairs.

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to us on YouTube Find Us on Flicikr Follow Us on Pinterest Add us on Google+ Find us on LinkedIn 

Please contact our Webmaster with questions or comments.
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
© Copyright Texas Heart Institute
All rights reserved.